Good Times

I finished the Reedy today! And it was an experience. 🙂 Thought I’d write a post before the post-race urge to nap hits me. I’m already cutting it close…

My running buddy and I had a light-hearted approach to the race today. We were both in charge of making sure the other started out at a conservative pace…with two former collegiate runners, that’s the trick to a happy road race! In one unfortunate showing in Atlanta, my first mile was 6:07. Yes, it was a certified course. No, I had absolutely no business being anywhere near  that time! I had planned on 8:00…but as soon as the gun went off, my legs got a little crazy. Needless to say, the last half of the race was unpleasant. Shudder.

I like to think I’m reasonably smart, so I’ve learned my lesson. Note to self: it’s not about reliving the college “fast” days. It’s about running NOW. (My running buddy jokingly talks of PCPRs – “post-collegiate personal records.”) Got it? Got it.

So, back to the Reedy. Running buddy and I ran the whole race together, managing a pace 15 seconds or so faster than our regular training pace but both feeling comfortable enough to chat the entire way. I feel like I need to apologize to EVERYONE who may have been within hearing range of us…I know it can be annoying to have to listen to people carry on an easy conversation while you’re struggling to put one foot in front of the other. I’ve certainly wondered why someone would pay to enter a race if all they wanted was a workout. And now I’m one of “those people.” Gasp! We tried to redeem ourselves by using our extra oxygen to cheer for other runners…I’m not sure if this helped or just increased our annoyance factor, but it made me feel better. We even managed to survive “the hill” (a steep monster conveniently situated just before the 5 mile mark) without walking, and after some debate over whether to kick or not to kick, we decided to cross the finish line at the same time and let the chips decide. She beat me. By less than 1 second…but we’re in different age groups, so it’s all good.

Even better, my hip cooperated with the entire running plan. It grumbled occasionally, but at least it wasn’t screaming obscenities at me like it did during the Green Valley race a few weeks ago. Boy, was that rude and uncalled for. A little ice and a “day of rest” tomorrow, and I think I’ll be ready to get back to training. Now that the weather is cooperating, it’s actually plausible that I’ll get up and run in the morning like I’m supposed to!

I suppose I should also say that my time was just over 51:00. When I saw the time on the scoreboard above the finish line I momentarily flashed back to my all-time track PR (36:57) and was a little embarrassed, but then I shook it off. Compared to the Atlanta fiasco, this was FANTASTIC. Best of all, I’ve lived to run (and run faster) another day.

And now, it’s time for a nap. I think I’ve earned it.

CONGRATULATIONS to everyone who ran any of the races today! I hope you all had as much fun as I did!

2 responses

  1. Aw, thanks Lins. If your knees would ever decide to cooperate, you’d finish a 5k in under 40:00 with no prob, I’m sure of it!

Leave a Reply

