More Vacation, More Running (International Version)

I’m back in town. I know that I have been missing from this blog for awhile, but I have a good excuse! I was in the Dominican Republic with my sister. And I’m happy to report that I did run while I was there….3x’s! I got up before there were crowds at the pool and on the beach. And I loved having a quiet bit of time in paradise. So here are my thoughts about running on vacation:

It takes a lot of dedication to get out the door and go for a run while on vacation (especially a vacation that involves sitting by the pool/beach with a book in one hand and a cold drink in the other). But…I’m glad I did because:

  • one, it allows you to explore more of the place you are in (just be sure to not make too many turns and get lost). I tend to enjoy out and backs because then I don’t have to remember any turns. This of course is pretty easy when your vacation involves a beach and not a big city.
  • two, it makes you feel super super motivated. It’s one thing to run at home on your regular schedule…but to choose to run on your own while on a relaxing vacation with no schedule makes you feel twice as good about running!
  • three, everyone you run by looks at you with awe…and it makes you feel even better about your dedication/motivation. Plus you feel like you’re part of a special club, and every other runner you pass gets a special nod, wave, or hello. You can bond with total strangers without saying a word.
  • and four, part of being a runner (even an old retired/trying to come back runner) is that it never leaves you, no matter where in the world you are. It’s something you take with you anywhere and all you need is a simple pair of shoes. I love that those shoes have logged miles all over the place…Dominican Republic, Ireland, South Carolina and more!! There will be plenty more miles on those shoes before I’m finished. 🙂

–Running Buddy

Leave a Reply

