:)

I was very happy a couple of weeks ago when I neared the 20-mile mark. Well, I’ve done it. Last week, I didn’t just break 20…I made it to 25. Surprised, anyone? Yeah, well…me too.

It started because my brother told me that he’d run 71 miles the week before. Oooooh…that boy. “Yeah, Meg, I decided to get serious about running again.” Did you, brother? “Yup, so last week I got in 71 miles.” What? Excuse me? How is that even possible?

So, even though it was pretty clear that my brother is a freak of nature (love ya, bro!), and even though I really have no desire to run 71 miles a week ever again, I decided it was high time to get a training plan together in honor of the Spinx Runfest. Coming soon to a downtown Greenville near you. Or actually, to downtown Greenville, SC. If that’s not the Greenville near you…lo siento. Anyway. Husband and I usually modify the training plans at Hal Higdon’s website for our longer races, and I figured that was a good place to start. Hal typically has a 12-week plan, and it was as I was applying dates to my “plan” that I realized something mildly alarming. The race is not twelve weeks away. Unbeknownst to me, I was already on week three of the plan. Interesting. Where does the time go?

Well, no worries. As we all know, I have  been running semi-consistently all summer. And 25 miles last week plus a $60 entry fee says that I’m right on track for a half marathon PR.

Leave a Reply

