Catsup…Ketchup…CATCHup.

It feels like it’s been a long, long time since I’ve posted. Anyone who’s read this blog for any length of time can probably guess that a lull in blog posts equates to lull in running…and you’d guess correctly. Again. Unfortunately, said lull is coming at a most inconvenient time. First of all, have you stepped outside this morning, upper South Carolina residents? Holy cow! There was a decided nip in the air this morning to go with last week’s temporary drop in humidity. It is very nearly the time for perfect running weather. Secondly, I have two races coming up this month.

The first, the Furman Blue Shoes 5k, I’m not so concerned about. I mean, it’s going to take more than a lull for me to be unable to finish a 5k. Plus, it’s a cross country race. Tehe. (Insert giddy excitement here.) I love cross country! I’ll get to wear my spikes! It’s going to be so much fun!

The second, however, is the Spinx Runfest. A surely hilly half marathon in downtown Greenville. All my big talk about a half marathon PR is not consistent with a lull that makes me miss a long run. Drat and a  half.

So, what’s up with this lull? Mostly, I think it’s just that I’m coming off the initial I HAVE A TRAINING PLAN  high. I seem to have squandered my limited quantity of motivation on making it out of summer. I need a mental kick in the pants to get through the dreaded “middle” part of the training plan—that place where the mileage and the fatigue are high. I’ve also been distracted by other things, like work (balancing work life and real life is something I’m still working on) and trying to find gas for the car (Sidenote: It is refreshing to realize how dependent I am on something so trivial. It makes me think…and reevaluate…and such. From a practical perspective, however, it’s amazingly inconvenient.)

The other reason for the lull is that I had something a little scary happen during my run on Saturday and it’s made me nervous. I was about a mile into what was supposed to be a 5 mile easy run, and I was feeling great. Honestly. It was the first time in quite a long while that I actually felt GOOD while running. I felt strong and in shape. Then, I came up to a busy intersection and the stoplight was not in my favor. I slowed down and came to a stop to wait for it to change. Almost immediately after I stopped, I lost my vision. Everything went black. I did my best not to hyperventilate, and thankfully I kept my balance, but it was really scary. It was somewhat akin to that “getting up too fast” feeling, but how would stopping a run produce the same effect? Clearly, I’ve stopped running lots of times. That’s never happened before. Did I forget to breathe? Is that possible? I’m sure it’s nothing. I just had a regular checkup, and blood pressure, pulse, cholesterol, and all that were fine and dandy. But it’s got me spooked nonetheless. Fortunately, one of the perks of the buddy system is that there’s someone to go for help in the event of spontaneous blindness or loss of consciousness. RB and I will hit the squishy trail today and start rebuilding my confidence. Husband likes the idea of being my “support crew” for long runs by riding his bike along with me, so I won’t have to worry about being by myself for that this weekend, either. Which pretty much leaves me with no excuse not to run. Just what the doctor ordered. 🙂

And there you have it. A loaf of lull with a tiny bit of craziness sandwiched in the middle. My life, the balogna sandwich. 🙂

3 responses

  1. So, if this piece is a “bye to the lull’ then isn’t it, per definition, a lull-a-bye and, consquently, should be written in 6/8 meter ? 🙂

  2. Pingback: Fling « MeganRunning

Leave a Reply

