Non-Running: Virginia Creeper Trail

On Saturday, Scott and I attended what is probably becoming an annual event: a group trip to Damascus, VA. What’s in Damascus, you may ask? A little thing called the Virginia Creeper Trail. The Creeper Trail is a 35-mile rail trail—that is, an old railroad line converted into a multi-use trail. Unlike Greenville’s Swamp Rabbit Trail (still under construction), the Creeper Trail is unpaved. It seems to be a popular destination for people taking in the “fall color.” 

Our little outing started in Damascus, where we rented bikes at an outdoorsy store. (My bike this year had one of those extra-cushiony “cruiser” seats, meaning less soreness later on for this biking novice.) Bikes and bikers are then shuttled up a mountain and dropped off near the trail. Everyone on my van was grateful to exit—our shuttle driver took the hairpin turns fearlessly and much too quickly for the comfort of those prone to motion sickness…not to mention the comfort of those sitting next to those prone to motion sickness.

From the the drop-off point it’s a 17-mile, mostly downhill coast back to Damascus. I’m not very comfortable biking, and last year I spent most of the trip with my hand on the brake. This year, the trail was a little less crowded (owing to the fact that it was the first week of November rather than the second week of October) so I was a bit braver. Either way, it’s a great way to spend an afternoon. There were maybe a few less leaves on the trees, especially at the start of the ride, but what we lost in immediate prettiness we gained in spectacular views. Without all those pesky leaves in the way, you can see forever! 

The Creeper Trail bike ride is something I’d definitely recommend and something I’ll almost certainly be doing again next year. That’s a pretty big commendation from a girl who doesn’t particularly care for bikes.

Some of the many, many photos: 

 

The trail features lots of bridges...

The trail features lots of bridges...

 

No Leaves = See Forever

No Leaves = See Forever

 

Another pretty scene.

Another pretty scene.

 

)

This is what happens when you take backwards pictures while riding a bike.

 

Periodically, you have to actually stop to take it all in.

Periodically, you have to actually stop to take it all in.

 

)

Not ALL of the leaves were gone.

 

Trying to look like I'm comfortable with the bike.

Trying to look like I know what I'm doing. It's something you never forget, right?

Christmas trees in their natural habitat...and us looking cute. I love my blue gloves!

Christmas trees in their natural habitat...and us looking cute. I love my blue gloves!

One response

  1. I’ll have to hear more about your ride. I’ve heard of it before and would love to do it one day! Nice chatting with you at the run – glad our ankles survived!

Leave a Reply

