Land of Blahs

Boy, am I missing out on the “runner’s high.” No euphoria for me. No sir. I believe somewhere in the not-so-distant past I was excited about progressing fitness and achieving weekly goals, but those days are hardly even a memory. I’m currently passing through the Land of Blahs and cannot even summon the energy to scroll through my own blog for a refresher on (and a link to) better days.

The Land of Blahs, you say? Do tell:

  • Hey, I’m going running…again. Blah.
  • Hey, let’s go out to Furman for yet another long run. Blah.
  • Let’s see, I can either run this loop or that loop. For the kajillionth time. Blah.
  • Hey, where did all those socks go? You mean it’s time to wash socks again? How about if I just reuse some somewhat crusty and crinkly ones? Blah.
  • What’s that? A car almost hit me? Blah.

I know, it’s pathetic…and that last one was an exaggeration. I mostly care about not getting hit by cars. 🙂 I’m just tired, and even though we’re nearly 6 weeks away from showtime I’m in the kind of mood that says the light at the end of this tunnel is an oncoming train. I’ve been trying to pep talk myself out of this major, major funk…but I’m having none of it. Just call me Oscar, because apparently I am the grouch. Blah.

4 responses

  1. Well, the warm weather is gone too. So think about the joys of running in the cool rain!

    Are you cross training any? Are you taking your rest days?

    You are way more advanced than me, so I am sure you are doing all that. Shake up your cross training some and go for a swim at an indoor pool. Go get a massage.

    You’ll make it through this. You have to, or else I will expect to fail in my marathon training and you wouldn’t wan that on your conscious would you?

    Oh yeah, one last piece of advice: Fake it ’til you make it. That is the one I usually have to fall back on.

  2. I’m mostly just bored and whiny. Running Buddy told me to “tough it out” when I was complaining to her yesterday. “Tough it out? This is me running 8 miles with you. I AM toughing it out…I just don’t have to like it!” I’m a joy to be around, let me tell you. 🙂 Poor RB.

    Quitting is not an option. I’ve come too far and run waaaaaay too stinkin’ much!

  3. I would assume this is “normal” marathon training behavior. You, of course, know what assuming does though! And knowing that it is normal doesn’t really help you any does it? Ok, instead, how about “tough it out!” Oh, wait, RB already tried that, hmm…how about I know you’ll make it, I know you’ll finish this training and you’ll be oh so happy you did. It’s worth it. And if I know it then it MUST be true!

  4. It truly is a roller coaster of emotions training for these darn things called marathons! Makes Tapering something to look forward to! You’ll definitely be UN_BLAHED coming across that finish line!!!!

Leave a Reply

