I’ll Take “Laziness vs. Overtraining” for $500, Alex

Husband mentioned last night that I’m showing the classic signs of overtraining. Yes, I was grumbling. Again. And parked on the great big recliner chair discussing the benefits of going to bed at 8:30 without actually having the motivation to get off the chair and up the stairs to bed. Again.

I’ve considered this possibility, and I have to tell you that I don’t like it, mostly because Running Buddy,  husband, and our friend from Kansas are all doing the exact same training. It makes me feel weak that I’m the one who’s suffering more (or perhaps merely more loudly) than the rest. There is the possibility that I’m just a big whiner baby and I need to suck it up, but there’s also the possibility that a few carefully placed extraneous rest days may not go amiss.

Here are the About.com (which, if not the most reliable source, is at least the one that came up first in Google) symptoms for overtraining:

  1. Washed-out feeling, tired, drained, lack of energy. Check.
  2. Mild leg soreness, general aches and pains. Um…I could say yes to this, but I’m not sure  how this is a separate consequence from normal running.
  3. Pain in muscles and joints. Same response as #2, although aside from my racing soreness (and it was pretty much gone by Wednesday) I’m not really feeling any specific or acute pain.
  4. Sudden drop in performance. Nope.
  5. Insomnia. I sleep…I just want to sleep MORE. And more and more and more…
  6. Headaches. Sometimes…but who doesn’t get headaches?
  7. Decreased immunity. Nope. Fit as a fiddle. I haven’t been sick since last June.
  8. Decrease in training capacity/intensity. I’ve felt more lethargic on runs this week, but I’ve been blaming the 10k and the ridiculous temperature upswing. 80* weather can make anyone feel a bit sluggish, right?
  9. Moodiness and irritability. Check. Poor Scott.
  10. Depression. Will to live…in tact.
  11. Loss of enthusiasm for the sport. Ha! Check.
  12. Increased incidence of injuries. Nah.
  13. A compulsive need to exercise. What is this doing on  here? If one feels a compulsive need to exercise, they’re in danger of overtraining? Lame, lame, lame.

So, according to my brilliant color-coding system, the “yes: maybe: no” ratio is 3:2:8. Based on this, I believe I’ll buzz in with the response, “What is middle-of-the-training-plan laziness?” Dingdingding! 500 imaginary dollars for me. The big tells here are that I haven’t shown a serious drop in performance, gotten injured, or gotten sick. This last despite the fact that two of my co-workers have been coming to work with colds all week. The fatigue and grouchies, however, suggest that an extra “mental health day” might not be misplaced. For the good of the overall goal or my marriage. 🙂

3 responses

  1. I haven’t been training that hard and was surprised that it took me a couple of days to get my legs back from RR too. I think you are right about the heat as well. Going from 40’s to 80 is a big change.

    Make sure you are eating enough carbs and protein and getting enough iron.

    If you need to take your mind off of it, come over to the house and help my kids with their school projects. It certainly makes me want to go out and run!

  2. desire for rest is NORMAL. .N.O.R.M.A.L. but lack of energy means you are either not eating enough or you ar eating the wrong stuff.

    as for moodiness ? in a female ? see first paragraph!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

