Another Rainy Saturday…

I ran 13 miles in a cold rain on Saturday morning, and it’s understandable if you think that would contribute to my ever-downward-spiraling mood. Understandable, but nevertheless incorrect. Don’t tell anyone, but I sort of like running in the rain. It’s a bit bizarre, I know. Possibly bordering the edge of crazy, I know. It’s not like I’m a fan of soggy shoes. And adding “cold” to the wet factor, such as yesterday’s 40-degree temps isn’t precisely funtastic either.

So what’s the deal?  That’s the question I was trying to answer yesterday, as my mood continually improved despite the downward wet of the rain, the upward wet of the puddles, and the everywhere chills. Am I just excited to have another long run out of the way? Perhaps, but the end of the “off week” isn’t something that’s likely to excite me, struggling as I am with laziness and antimotivation. Maybe it was because I having a great time reliving favorite SNL skits with ME? I absoultely was, but that probably only constituted 4 miles or so of the trip. Am I masochistic? Hmm…

So what’s the deal? I guess I just have to face the facts–I like running in the rain. I like having the trail to ourselves. I like the feeling of “toughness” that comes with knowing that a little rain isn’t going to disrupt my training schedule. (I may occasionally disrupt my training schedule, but that’s a separate issue entirely!) I like how refreshing it feels. I like how the chorus for “Singing in the Rain” always gets stuck in my head and picks up my spirits. 

As I thought more about it, I realized that this isn’t a recent infatuation. I have some photographic evidence here that shows the craziness goes way, way back…

 

The last of 6 races, the course was a total wreck at State this year. I may be drenched and nervous as anything, but I'm still loving every minute of it!

The last of 6 races, the course was a total wreck by the time it was my turn to race at State this year. I may be drenched and nervous as anything, but I'm still loving every minute of it!

 

Here's a lovely pic of the starting line...and what used to be a golf course. Funny, they quit letting us run on the fairway after this year. I wonder why?

Here's a lovely pic of the starting line...and what used to be a golf course. Funny, they quit letting us run on the fairway after this year. I wonder why?

 

 

And here I am, around the mile mark. The photo quality isn't great, but look close...there's a smirk accompanying those muddy legs! Yay, rain!

And here I am, around the mile mark. The photo quality isn't great, but look close...there's a smirk accompanying those muddy legs! Yay, rain!

3 responses

  1. I am…but I feel selfish hoping for it knowing that Scott and Running Buddy would not be very excited. I’m trying to think about the greater good, and not my selfish whims. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Countdown to 26.2: 3 Days « MeganRunning

Leave a Reply

