The Big 2-0

Nope, not my 20th birthday. That milestone passed me by some time ago, but that’s sweet of you to think. Gosh. πŸ™‚

I ran 20 miles this morning. Can you believe it? I’m not entirely sure I do, yet. It’s something I’ve kept in my head as an impossible goal…something vague and unavoidable lurking in my future, but too difficult to really think about it. Each week as the mileage crept upward, I’d think…”That’s ok, at least it’s not 20 miles.” 8, 9, 11, 14? That’s ok. 12, 15, 17, 18? No sweat. At least it’s not 20 miles.

Then, of course, the big 2-0 is often the longest run in the training plan. If you get this far, the chances are good that you’ll make it successfully through the REAL DEAL. In the process of getting this far, the 20 mile training run has been raised to nearly mythical status.Β 

And you know what? I did it (as did Running Buddy and Marathon Expert). We ran for just about 3 hours at the Furman trail…and it wasn’t that bad. Don’t get me wrong, it was a long way (and a long time!) to run. As far as an “ordeal” goes, however, I found it be anticlimatic. If I had to, I could have kept running. I don’t have any blisters to speak of, and aside from being insanely hungry and a little tired I can’t complain of any ill effects. I know it’s the last 6 miles that get a lot of people, but I’m not going to lie…today’s run was a definite confidence-builder. Yeehaw! πŸ™‚

7 responses

  1. Great job. Did you have to do a lot of repeat loops? I hate doing that on longer runs, but it seems to be almost required. I’ll be glad when the Swamp Rabbit is open from Faris Road to TR.

  2. Congrats!! That is huge and I’m glad it went well. Hey, my cousin is running a 1/2 this weekend and I was wondering if you had any advice. She’s pretty new to running, it sounds like she’s trained well, I just didn’t know if there were any last minute things she should be doing (besides hydrating) or any hydration/fuel techniques you like for race day.

    Thanks! and well done.

  3. Hmm…well, as you know my track record of “enjoyable half marathons” is 0-2, so I may not be the best person to ask. With that said, it probably depends on her pace but I’ve never taken any “fuel” during a half, just water and once (regrettably) gatorade.

    Hydration is important but balance is MORE important so I’d caution her not to overdo it. It’s probably a good idea to take a water break earlier than you feel like you actually need it, but you probably don’t need to stop for every single water station. You don’t want to get a sideache from a bellyful of agua! Just tell her to take it slow and steady, if she’s put in the miles in preparation and starts out at a reasonable pace, she’ll do just fine.

  4. Oh, wow. Yup, that’d be me. That’s crazy! I wasn’t even paying attention…just trying to get by the conference table without interrupting. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

