Countdown to 26.2: 26 Days

I’m sensing the start of a series. I am in week 14 of marathon training…just shy of 4 weeks from the big event. I have progressed from perky to determined, from determined to lethargic, from lethargic to antagonistic. (Sidenote: This progression may be summarized as “yay, ok, zzz, boo!”) But now, with three months behind me and only one teeny, tiny calendar page in front of me…I think I can do this. I mean, sure, there’s the very real possibility that I could bonk horribly, or cramp up and fall off a bridge, or just plain get tired of all the stinkin’ running.

If none of these come to pass, however, there is an equally real possibility that in 27 days I will be the proud owner of a Finisher’s Medal. (Sidenote: And because I’m starring in my own reality, and not on a reality show where they care more about getting a “great shot” than integrity or honesty, that medal will be 100% earned. Boy, I am still teed off about that.)

And I have to admit, that’s a pretty neat feeling. Probably not as neat as the feeling of actually being DONE with the thing, but I’m enjoying it nonetheless.

I’m also eagerly awaiting the arrival of my new singlet. Yes, I bought a new singlet. Yes, just for the marathon. Yes, I feel really wasteful. The rationale here is minimizing discomfort. My typical racing top is spandex, and I’ve been thinking that something lighter and looser would be more comfortable for the big race, particularly at the end of April when it may very well be on the “warm” side for marathoning. Marathoning? Sure, it can be a verb. Megan marathonned her way right back into shape. See?

So, dryfit it is. I think it will match my grey/green shorts, and I hope it will fit! I ordered it online, and I’m on the border between two sizes. It’s definitely cute, which is a plus…and definitely not pink, which is always preferable (for this runner).

What I am most looking forward to, however, is for this week to be over. Our second 20-mile long run is this weekend, and you know what happens after that? It’s all about tapering, my friend. Now there’s something to look forward to!

7 responses

  1. I love the ya, ok, zzz, boo progression. Cracked me up! Woohoo for running a marathon and for new gear even if it feels wasteful. I’m so so so excited for you and can’t wait for the race recap!

  2. I’m going to try to be a dedicated blogger and update after the race from the hotel, but we’ll see how that goes. Food, water, and a nap may be higher priorities. 🙂

  3. soo pissed about that Biggest Loser! I’m right there with ya! Hooray for the last 20 miler we got ours this weekend as well will you be back at Furman? Taylor and I will be out there.

  4. Yeah, that biggest loser deal was terrible. I was really upset about that. On the flip side, I can’t imagine running a half marathon on an indoor track like a bunch of them did the other week. I would have gone insane……

  5. Pingback: Countdown to 26.2: 4 Days « MeganRunning

  6. Pingback: Countdown to 26.2: 27 days « MeganRunning

Leave a Reply

