Countdown to 26.2: 4 Days

It’s now the week of the marathon. I’m not entirely sure what to do with that! I find myself becoming anxious with the (formerly) glorious taper…when I was running 40+ miles a week, I was less concerned and more confident about the completion of 26.2. Now that I’m running less…and less…and less…it makes me antsy.

I’ve also found a new phase in the endless cycle of marathon training emotions. From “yay, ok, zzz, boo,” I’ve now entered the realm of the nostalgic: “awwwwwww.” This hit  me on Sunday, when I went for a 4-mile run and had that glorious sensation of running autopilot…running zen…call it what you will, I was suddenly thankful that the marathon has gotten me back to a place where a 4-miler is cake and a little sad that it will be in my rearview mirror after this Saturday. Of course, I’m going to keep training after the marathon. I could even get hooked on the thing and start training for #2 immediately (I highly doubt it). Nevertheless, it’s the end of an era and it’s hard not to find that a little sad.

But how about that Boston Marathon for a little motivation? Wowee!

I think our hotel has Internet, so I’m considering taking my laptop on the road with us. If I can type coherently around nerves and exhaustion, I’ll try to be a good blogger and give pre- and post-race updates.

6 responses

  1. Woohoo Marathon in 4 days! I’m so excited for you. If I could virtually follow you the way I did the boston folks yesterday you know I totally would! 🙂 I’d probably be screaming at my computer.

  2. I wanted to wish you good luck right now in case you don’t post again before your race. I haven’t run a marathon yet, but your journey is giving me the courage to consider trying. Thanks for that.

Leave a Reply

