Countdown to 26.2: 14 hours

And now…I am nervous. The butterflies have arrived, and I can’t believe that I’ll be running a marathon tomorrow. Did I say that 4 months of training was going by with excrutiating slowness? I lied! I can’t possibly be ready! 26.2 miles? Are you kidding me?

Ok. Breathe. And stay close to the “facilities”, because the downside of extraordinary hydration is frequent bathroom trips. The inconvenience is well worth it, however, given the fact that the high for tomorrow is now forecasted at 89. Sure, why not? I have no problem with that. If it’s going to be hot, let’s go for something completely horrendous. Sounds good! 

We drove as much of the course as we could this morning, a process hindered by superfluous one-way streets in downtown Louisville. “Ok Scott, we  need to turn right on Breckenridge…crud! Foiled again! You win this battle, one-way street…but just you wait until tomorrow, when I’m not obligated to obey traffic laws!” We have discovered that–with the exception of the last 4 miles of the course–there is plentiful shade and only two areas with major hills. I’m trying to look at those in a positive light. Because I can’t do anything about them, because I’ve always been good at hills, and because from everything I’ve heard a marathon with mixed terrain is in some ways easier than a totally flat course. There’s optimism at its best! Go me! I also saw ZERO port-a-johns after the ones at the starting line. That could be unfortunate, but maybe they’re just not done setting up yet. 

And now, on to dinner. We have reservations at an Italian/Persian restaurant that I’m looking forward to trying. Hummus and pasta in the same meal? That will definitely stave off nerves and negativity for the time being. 🙂

One response

  1. Gorka-ma-port! Oh, I guess I forgot to prat! Go get ’em sissss. I’m off to work. I will be tracking you like stalker…a marathon stalker…

Leave a Reply

