Like Sand Through the Hourglass, So are the Minutes Wasted in Attempted Watch Band Replacement

Oh, boy. I had this grand idea of taking photos of my watch band replacement adventure and posting them to the blog. 10 minutes later, with the old band stubbornly attached to the watch and my patience beginning to wear thin, I decided that maybe this wasn’t the kind of adventure that needed a photographic documentary.

30 minutes after that, with a watch now bandless and my hatred for “spring posts” growing every second, I abandoned the field to look for directions. There must be some secret trick that will make this procedure quick and painless, thought I. One Google search later, I learned the horrible truth.

“WORST DESIGN EVER!”
“Could they make this any harder to replace?”
“Not even a jeweler could put this thing back together.”
“The most annoying thing I’ve ever encountered.”
“It absolutely takes forever to replace, just go buy a new watch.”
“Even with the provided tool, the spring posts are nearly impossible to align correctly.”

Either the Internet is filled with whiners, or this is one tricky procedure. Irrationally, I actually feel a little better once I know that my struggle is normal. But what’s this about a tool? My replacement band came with the band and the cursed spring posts—no instructions, no semi-helpful tool. For the love.

Back I go to the bandless watch and the wretched spring posts. I abandon the needle-nosed pliers, which are worthless for this procedure. I’m fairly certain the task calls for a  helpful and dexterous mouse (a la Cinderella) and x-ray vision. I settle for a toothpick and a flashlight, and the battle begins again.

Twenty minutes later, after many false alarms and out of sheer luck, I manage to slide one of the spring posts into place. Huzzah! We’re…um…halfway there. Snaptastic. Ten minutes following, beset by failure, I allowed the spring posts to win the battle. I’ve reached my limit, and I know myself enough to know when to take a break. I’ll return to the watch when my level of patience has refilled and I have a greater chance of replacing than band than breaking the entire watch. One of these days, I plan to win the war. The war against the no good, rotten, spring posts.

6 responses

  1. I would take it to that shop in the Haywood Mall. Forget the name but I think it is near Sears. They replace batteries as well. It would be well worth the money not unless you want to fight with it.

  2. Pingback: Have you ever wondered… « MeganRunning

  3. I have been looking for someone to tell me how to do this! I just replaced my battery, and so intentionally undid my watchband to get the back of the watch off… Little did I know how hard it would be to get back on!!! Good luck; I’ll post some instructions if I figure anything out! 🙂

  4. AHA! After wrestling with my IronMan tonight for one hour, I finally got fed up and wondered whether I could get the band on with the back of the watch OFF. I removed the back, and was able to install the band on the FIRST TRY (I used a small screwdriver to help me compress the little spring post).

    The next challenge was to attach the back onto the watch (even though part of the watch band overlaps the area that the back covers. So, I decided that I’d have to slide it in from the side underneath those overlapping nubs. Since I was sliding from the side, there was no way I was going to get the gasket (black ring) positioned right, so I just left it off.

    I started from the side that had a few small springs inside the watch at a very slight angle (trying to be careful not to catch them). The back almost doesn’t fit when coming in from the side and got kind of stuck — I had to push pretty hard, but finally slid the back of the watch into place. All seems well now, although my watch is no longer waterproof (of course, it might not have been anyways). Good luck!

  5. Scott, I admire your persistence. 🙂 I ended up getting really mad, breaking the watch, and buying a new one. It’s shiny. And pretty. And I’m treating it with kid gloves in the hopes that the watch band never, ever needs to be replaced.

Leave a Reply

