Let’s Ask Mr. Owl!

Do you remember that Tootsie Pop commercial? Mr. Owl cheats, and the world may  never know how many licks it takes to get to the Tootsie Roll center of a Tootsie Pop.

The world will also never know the results of THE GREAT RUNNING BUDDY vs. MEGARUNR DUEL. I know. I’m sad, too. It started to rain at 4:00, and I thought the storm had come and gone when I headed to the track at about 6:00. About ten seconds after receiving my bib number, however, there was a MUCH too bright flash of light followed immediately by a peal of thunder. GTC President Joe Hammond came over the loudspeaker, explaining that the Club policy is not to have children struck by lightning (or something to that effect) and the track meet is hereby cancelled.

They tried to wait it out and still run the two-mile race as scheduled, but after a 20 minute lull the lightning came back in an impressive and frequent fashion. There was nothing left to do but throw in the rest of the towel, pack it up, and go home. I don’t know of any plans to reschedule. This was to be the final All Comers Summer Track Meet, and I don’t know what kind of deal the Club has with Furman but I’m guessing that rescheduling isn’t an option. I’ll post an update if I hear anything different.

I know it’s kind of a let-down, but on the bright side this crazy little plan of mine did accomplish its goal–it kept me running through the post-marathon-attempt blahs. Now, there’s only a few more months of tune-up to gear up for the second round of marathon training.

4 responses

  1. Sorry, you’re not off the hook – GTC is looking to reschedule (probably will, since Run-In chipped in money to pay for the entry fees).

    BTW – great blog – I appreciate the hard work that you put into it- you write well

  2. Hahaha, I saw that a “possible reschedule” was in the works on the GTC website. The race is part of the series, after all…I’ll have to warn Running Buddy. 🙂

    Thanks for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

