1, 2, 3, 4

I am imagining that subject title already has my friend D singing along, and it’s cracking me up, but in reality she’s probably  just as confused as you are. It’s been a long while since we sat around listening to cassette tapes of Coolio, and Snow, and Ace of Base, and whoever else we listened to back in the day. Quite a long while indeed. Mm-hmm.

Well, if you don’t think that  makes any sense, just wait until  you hear my new running plan. This whole, “follow along with D in a spirit of comaraderie and show of support” makes me sound like a great person, friend, and coach and all, but it isn’t working out so well. Some good things have happened in the past three weeks…I ran six miles last Saturday with Marathon Expert. That was good, and fun, and etcetera. I even got up a few mornings for a slow 2-3 miles. That’s not too shabby, either.

However, I have not run many more days than I have run in the past three weeks. And August…well, August won’t exactly go down in my personal history as the TIME OF FANTASTIC RUNNING. So, where does that leave me? With under a month until the start of marathon training and about six weeks until the already paid for Spinx Half Marathon. Awesome! I’d say that I’m totally prepared for both of these goals.

Um, or not. I think something whacky and different and a little stupid is in order to snap me out of this lazy rut. I am going to have a little fun with counting.

Monday is the 21. I will run 1 mile. Tuesday is the 22, so I’ll be running 2 miles. Wednesday is the 23. I will (you guessed it!) run 3 miles. You can see where this is going.

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 0…October! Fall! Leaves changing, pumpkins pumpkinning, crisp mornings and cool evenings…all right! Surely the motivation to run will generate all on its own if I can only get there. I just need one little jolt to get the show on the road. Or at least, that’s the idea. I recongize that this is one of the dumber ideas I’ve come up with yet, and I  certainly don’t recommend it as a reasonable training plan for anyone else. But for me…gotta gotta count up to get to marathon time. Or something like that.

2 responses

  1. The only thing I could come up with is, “1,2,3,4…get your woman on the floor, gotta gotta get up to get down”. Is that right?

    I like the plan, but did you just say “pumpkining?”

  2. Ding ding ding ding! Correct!

    Pumpkinning. Sure. As in, to pumpkin. As in, I can’t wait until the Habitat for Humanity people set their pumpkin place back up so I can go buy lots of pumpkins (for the 4th year in a row) and make Scott carry them back to the car (for the 4th year in a row).

Leave a Reply

