Thank You, Google! …or, Search Engine Terms Part 206

I’ve been enjoying an increase in search engine terms bringing traffic to my blog. Not because I’m obsessed with how many people are reading or anything silly like that…just that I like seeing what combination of words can bring up my blog in Google and the like. Here we go again…

  • ky derby marathon
    Yes indeed. There are apparently some fellow runners out there researching potential marathons for next year. I feel a little bit bad that I’m somehow representing the Kentucky Derby Marathon…but most of the bad things I said related to the weather and myself…the race committee has no control over either of those (so far as I know). Good = running around Churchill Downs and seeing the horses training, nice blue shirt, Pesto’s Italian & Persian Restaurant (yum!), nice crowds. Bad = the end-of-April weather gamble, the hills of Iroquois Park, the long, sunny, lonely stretch after the half marathoners split off.
  • scott garmin
    My Scott has a Garmin! It’s the Garmin Forerunner something or other…um…let me ask…Scott says it’s the Garmin Forerunner 305. I say that it’s red and has lots of windows that he has customized to show all kinds of crazy data and occasionally beep at him when something noteworthy happens. He also has a special thingamajig to attach it to his bike.
  • running skirts with bun huggers
    I think they come either with briefs or with tiny spandex shorts underneath. I’d go with the shorts if I were you. The word on the street is that they help prevent chafing.
    Or you could just wear something else entirely, because running in a skirt is a fad that I keep hoping will fade away, like leg warmers and side ponytails.
  • are running skirts stupid
    Yes. Or, at least I think so. And we all know how important my opinion is.
  • nike plus feedback voices
    Heretofore, I have always thought that Lance Armstrong and Paula Radcliffe were the sole “congratulations” voices. However, a friend of mine posted a status message on Facebook that Tiger Woods had just congratulated him on running his fastest mile. I thought he was kidding. Why does Tiger Woods care about running? Lance has done a marathon, and biking is an endurance sport so that makes sense. I Googled it, and in the Wikipedia article on nike plus it lists the feedback voices as Lance, Paula, Joan Benoit Samuelson, and Tiger Woods. Huh. Why don’t Tiger and Joan tell me good job? What do I need to do to impress them? Do I have to have a new receiver? I’m not buying a new receiver. But I am a little sad.
  • megan “greenville track club” blog
    This one makes me smile. Someone was actually looking for my blog! I don’t know if that’s ever  happened before…this is a big moment. I’m touched! Thanks, anonymous Internet searcher!
  • once had a dream that a hamburger was eating me
    I did not make this up. I promise. I believe it’s a reference to a Seinfeld episode…not that that explains why it found my blog. I remember writing about going to McDonald’s immediately after a 20-miler because I could think of nothing besides cheeseburgers for the last 4 miles…maybe?
3 responses

  1. It’s one of the features of WordPress. It keeps track of the search engine terms and websites that bring people to my blog and also tracks the clicks made from my blog. . Obviously, I enjoy it a little too much. 🙂

    I’m not sure how it works in relation to Google reader…to be honest, I’m not sure how it works at all! But it is fun. I know DeAnna has written before about how she wishes she could see search engine terms, so it might not be available everywhere.

  2. Thanks! Statcounter tells me daily hits, IP addresses, cities, how long they stayed, popular posts, etc.

    They only problem is that I don’t understand half the information. The other day somebody spent ALL DAY long reading my blog. Seriously. All day. My stat counter went way up because of them.

    Anyways! Happy weekending and happy running!

Leave a Reply

