Tainted / Spin / Saving / Slash

So, it turns out that I have NOT been poisoned by tainted beef. (Yet?) I wasn’t even aware of the latest recall until my friend DeAnna posted a story on her blog. Being a happy-go-lucky link-clicker, I clicked the link to read about the dreaded E. coli making the rounds through contaminated beef along the eastern seaboard. I try not to be an alarmist and the article said that the affected states started with the OTHER Carolina and headed north so it seemed like I didn’t have anything to worry about.

Sometimes, I think I like to find things to worry about. Bloom emailed yesterday to tell me that if I bought something-or-other beef between Setember 26 and October 8, I could bring it back for a full refund. Ok, I said to myself, no big deal. Because (1) I usually don’t shop at Bloom because they’re more expensive (just sometimes because everything is so pretty and neat and organized in there!), so maybe I didn’t even go there during those dates and (2) I don’t usually freeze meat, I buy it and use it before the expiration date so any potentially tainted beef is LONG gone. Just to know for sure, though, I went to our bank account and…sure enough, I went to Bloom on September 30.

This is where I forget all about the second reason I’m not about to die from potentially tainted beef: it was probably cooked into tacos or calzones or spaghetti sauce and eaten by October 2. A full month ago. If I was going to get sick, I’d already be sick. Right? Right???

There’s only one thing to do to end the worry cycle: I call my friend D. I haven’t talked to her (except over the Internet, which totally counts) for…um…3 years? so she’s probably a little surprised to receive my call. She’s taken college classes in food borne illnesses, so she is my expert. She repeats rational reason #2 for me, and all is well. It turns out that I have not been poisoned by potentially tainted beef. Go me.

/////

In other news, I woke up at 5:24 this morning. ON PURPOSE. I know, it’s shocking. I’ve been avoiding my scheduled XT day, which was supposed to take the form of an evening spin class. There are lots of fun excuses…I’m hungry, I’m tired, I need to work late, I don’t want to have to take a second shower…annoying. Spin class is good for me — it’s great aerobic exercise that doesn’t require any pavement-pounding and it helps strengthen my quads and back. Win-win.

So, the only way I found to avoid the post-work lazies is to hit the morning spin class…which begins at 5:45. I’m not sure how I feel about this…getting my XT in? Good. Only having to take one shower today? Great. Not interfering with work? Awesome. Getting up before the crack of dawn? Um……………

It wasn’t that bad. It was definitely weird to be up that early and we’ll see how I’m feeling at about 3:00 this afternoon, but it is nice to get the training for the day out of the way. After a 2-month hiatus from spin, however, there is definitely going to be some soreness in the “sit down” parts. Oh, well. Getting faster, getting stronger…

/////

I am in love with daylight saving time. Really. On Monday, I woke up at 6:35 and it was light outside! I could run my 3 miles without freaking myself out every time a squirrel scampered across some leaves…I could see the dog mess before I stuck my foot in it…oh, it was glorious.  I know that winter will take over soon and the days will shorten, but for awhile it’s going to be great!

/////

Lots of subjects today. This slash that slash the other…as a “final thought,” I’d just like to note that running is feeling normal again.

One response

Leave a Reply

