Happy Thoughts

I am running 22 miles on Saturday. While not inherently an unhappy thought, it doesn’t make me particularly happy to think about, either. Let’s see here…22 miles…that’s getting close to three and a half hours of sustained movement (counting the “eat and walk” breaks). AND, unlike the rest of marathon training, 22 miles is something completely new for me. I’ve never, ever, ever run this far before — even in the Kentucky Derby Marathon, the DNF occurred about two miles shy of this distance. I am, I admit, a little scared.

Rather than concentrate on the fear, however (the mind-numbing, chills-inducing, nausea-accompanying fear), I’d like to concentrate on turning “I’m running 22 miles” into a happy thought.

I’m running 22 miles…and then I get to taper! Yahoo!
I’m running 22 miles…and then I’ll be two miles closer to finishing the real distance!
I’m running 22 miles…in nice weather!
I’m running 22 miles…and it’s the last long run at Furman that will require out and back and out and back and a loop…or two.
I’m running 22 miles…which means I’ve survived 15 weeks of training!
I’m running 22 miles…the perfect excuse for a cheeseburger!

Unfortunately, sometimes even the most persistent look to the “bright side” of a situation can’t completely remove the fear and worry. The bright side of the bright side, however, is that it keeps you moving in the direction of the ultimate good. Although I’m nervous about running for 3 1/2 hours, when it’s over I’ll have more confidence in myself and know completed the last major piece in the “physically preparing for a marathon” puzzle.

Husband and I have another situation that’s requiring a determined look away from the dark side. The timeline looks like this — in June, Scott injured a tendon in his foot. In October, he was forced to conclude that it was a “real injury” and not something that could be iced into submission and then run through (he’s the typical crazytough distance runner). From October to now, he’s been following a doctor’s advice and a physical therapy regimen. PT helped some, but it wasn’t getting him back to a point where he could run comfortably. After another visit with the doctor last week and more tests revealed that a minimally invasive surgery is Scott’s best bet for getting back to his running self. He will be going under the knife tomorrow, and we’re both nervous. Sounds like another opportunity for some happy thoughts!

Scott is having surgery tomorrow…and after he recovers, he’ll be able to run again!
Scott is having surgery tomorrow…but it’s minimally invasive and he’ll get to go home right afterwards.
Scott is having surgery tomorrow…which should help him stand and move more comfortably once more.
Scott is having surgery tomorrow…and all the medically-inclined friends we have say the doctor is top notch.

Ok, that didn’t really work. I’m still nervous. I don’t like thinking about my husband being in a hospital, being on crutches, needing pain meds. When thinking about the long term, however, this is the absolutely right thing to do. I’ll hold onto that, pray for an uneventful surgery and quick recovery, and look forward to the day when my running husband can run once more.

5 responses

  1. happy thoughts all around ! I’m sure you’ll do just fine and Scots surgery will be totally uneventfull!

    As for cheeseburger celebrations I’d suggest you go out of your way and make that happen in a big way. The only place in SC I hambugers is “Ike’s” in Spartanburg. Its worth the drive. Believe me You can google for the address. 🙂

  2. Oooh, I know what you mean about husband having surgery, that is scary. Don’t freak out. Easier said than done. I got no advice on the 22 miles other than…run. Good one, huh? I’m very helpful.

    I’ll be praying for your running husband. And you.

  3. Big prayers for Scott and you! He’ll do fine and you will rock out your 22. After that i’d hit FIVE GUYS for a burger, make you wanna smack yo momma good!

Leave a Reply

