Faux Foodie Friday

This is a shameless attempt to copy more popular blogs with a themed, weekly post. While I’m pretty impressed with myself for thinking of something that I should be able to write about week after week without fail, I can’t claim to be cool enough to have come up with this idea myself. Also, I did not invent the Internet.

Neither can I claim to be a “foodie.” I wouldn’t say that I have a particularly distinguished palate and you won’t find me swooning over unique pairings. I read and enjoy a couple of food blogs but am embarrassed by the number of times I’m sent running for a dictionary or Wikipedia to learn the meaning of some word or process.

I do, however, like love increasingly obsess over food. I’m also in the unique position of having walking-distance access to some of the best restaurants in Greenville. I thought I’d pair the two for weekly forays in the culinary world…for that little thing I like to call lunch.

I like lunch. Lunch is dinner’s frugal cousin. I love that I can go to great restaurants and get great food for half the price…no wait time or reserverations required. The number of “dinner only” restaurants in downtown Greenville seriously cuts into my enjoyment; however, it looks like some of them are seeing the let’s-cater-to-the-lunch-crowd light.

You see, High Cotton has started serving lunch. This fact was exciting enough — I’d heard many good things about High Cotton. It’s one of the great “date night” restaurants in Greenville. When the rave reviews were confirmed during Running Buddy and my “Wicked” outing, my desire to test out their lunch menu doubled. And when a quick look at the lunch menu online showed a four-course sampler for only $10, I grabbed my jacket and hiked towards the river.

They call it the “quick fix” — half a sandwich, a cup of soup, a side salad, and creme brulee. It’s a bit of a gamble — the sandwich and soup rotate according to what’s on “special.” It is $10, which seemed like an unbelievably good deal for this restaurant, and you get free cornbread. (I’m always in favor of restaurants that give away carbohydrates.) The waiter also told me that you can get crab soup for $1 more. I’m not a big seafood fan, but I know when the words “crab soup” get tossed around there are people who get pretty excited.

Today, the pimento cheese sandwich and mushroom bisque was on tap. I almost chickened out when I saw the word “pimento.” Running Buddy loves this sandwhich, but I’ve never been impressed with the fluorescent orange color and slimy-looking texture. After a mental kick in the pants, I decided that even if I didn’t like the sandwich I would still have plenty left to keep me company. I ordered it.

Less than 10 minutes later, the most adorable plate in the world was set in front of me. I had a cupcake-sized portion of creme brulee, a cup of soup, the pimento cheese triangle, and the remaining space on the plate was filled in with a tasty-looking salad. When we eat out, I usually order a full meal because I want the sides (Grilled veggies? Seasoned rice? Mac & Cheese? Yes, please!) and then end up eating half of everything. I’ve never seen something portioned so appropriately for me that wasn’t ordered from a menu that came with crayons. It was the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. If I was a real blogger, I would have taken a picture. Alas. Looks like I’ll have to go back… 🙂

The salad was impressive. Arugula, the type of greens Scott calls “weeds” if he sees them in one of my salads, radish slices, carrots, grape tomatoes, and a vinaigrette. Mighty tasty, presumably healthy, and gone in minutes.

The soup was delicious. It wasn’t too heavy, but it was the most substantial thing on the gorgeous plate. I all but licked the bowl. Yum…mushrooms.

The pimento cheese sandwich…isn’t something I would ever try again. That’s not to say it was bad. With the quality of everything else, I’m sure that someone who likes the orangey spread would be impressed. It was served on texas toast with tomato slices and basil leaves. Most of it remained on the plate.

The creme brulee was just as good as it looked. I know it’s basically just pudding with caramelized sugar on top, but a lot of times I get more enjoyment out of something simple than I would out of something excessively rich. And oh, I did enjoy it. Fortunately, they gave me a tiny spoon to eat it with, the better to coax every last morself from the corners of the serving dish.

The verdict? It was an impressive showing for a very reasonable price. If you’re ever visiting Greenville, lunch at High Cotton, with its vantage point above the Reedy River, would be a great treat.

2 responses

  1. Yum and yum. But I feel the need to correct one thing: creme brulee. It’s not pudding. Creme brulee can never be pudding. Or jello, if you like that line from my “best friend’s wedding”. It doesn’t have a name like that for nothing. It’s french. It’s difficult to make. It’s all eggs and cream and just the right temp or you’ll have scrambled eggs and standing over a stove and then chilling it so it isn’t gross and then caramalizing the sugar, which isn’t as easy as it seems either! 🙂 Mmm, I love creme brulee.

  2. Thanks for the info. There’s a reason I call myself the “faux foodie” — fancy french dessert, jello…what’s the difference? Okokok…calm down…I’m kidding. 😉

Leave a Reply

