Faux Foodie Friday

I had planned on going to a really fantastic Persian restaurant today (hummus! flatbread! basmati rice! stew! excessive exclamation points!) because it’s, well, really fantastic, I haven’t been there in a long time, and since I started with High Cotton it seems like a good idea to hit all of the places on the West End first.

But then, Husband emailed and wanted to know if I wanted to go eat lunch with him on Friday. (Cue the “awwww…”) I thought about it…go on a semi-date with my husband, or eat by myself in the originally intended restaurant? As I didn’t have a book to read love him a whole lot, I chose Scott. There’s a restaurant I’ve been wanting to take him to, anyway, and it just happens to be on the West End. Far, far, far into the West End.

We went to Compadre’s, a growing “Mex Mex” restaurant by Fluor Field. (The first time I went there, it had about 10 tables. Now, they’ve expanded into the shop next door. As good as the food is, I wouldn’t be surprised if they take over the whole block eventually!) The main reason that I like Compadre’s is that their food is lighter and fresher than the typical sit-down Mexican restaurant. I don’t like the places where you order a combination plate and everything arrives in semi-liquid form. You know what I”m talking about? And how does rice get into a mostly-fluid state, anyway? Gross.  It’s also the home of the cheapest lunch special in downtown Greenville…good food for a low price is a tough combo to pass up. If it wasn’t farther than I’d really care to walk, I’d be tempted to go there several times a week.

The distance is not prohibitive, however, when you have a chauffeur, so off we went today. Scott went his usual route and I went mine…in his case, that means ordering a la carte in order to avoid choices between two side dishes he doesn’t like. In my case, that means looking for the best balance between “food variety” and “waste not, want not.” I ended up with one of the lunch specials — a chicken taco, chicken enchilada, and Mexican rice for $4.60. I am a cheap date. There was also, of course, the obligatory chips and salsa (me) or plain ol’ chips (Scott). And waters for both of us, because at this point in eternal marathon training water-drinking  is (1) free and (2) habit. (Sidenote: Although I must confess that I caved and fell back on my Mountain Dew addiction a bit this week. You see, the cat…the adorable, stupid cat who loves me unconditionally and doesn’t understand why I don’t mind when she meows for attention at 2:00 in the afternoon but mind decidedly when she shrieks continuously at 2:00 in the morning…she started up with the racket and I ended up getting no sleep. The next day was torment, and I caved. I’m not proud of it.)

It’s hard to gush about tacos and tortilla chips, but it was a mighty tasty lunch and I’ve never been disappointed by Compadre’s. It looks like they’ve opened another location at Cherrydale, too, so I’d say I’m not the only one who’s a fan.

2 responses

  1. Sounds delicious. When you first mentioned Mex-Mex I pictured everything in simi-liquid form, then laughed when you wrote that. It is gross but you just never think about it.

    Scott doesn’t like salsa? Who doesn’t like salsa? This is insane. Also, YOU can count that salsa as a serving of veggies. Awesome.

  2. Scott doesn’t like salsa or any of its parts, lol. Tomatos? Onions? Cilantro? Peppers? No, no, no, and no. More for me! Which is sometimes bad because I now have a wicked double-dipping habit that’s tough to break when we go out with friends and I’m suddenly expected to share.

Leave a Reply

