I AM A MARATHON FINISHER.

Stories and pictures will be forthcoming, but for now that’s all I care to say —

I AM A MARATHON FINISHER.

Finally, finally, finally. I’m in a bit of shock that I’ve actually done it…which is why I’ve brought my finisher’s medal with me to work. When it doesn’t seem real, I can look at that medal and remember: they don’t just give those things to anyone. Only people who have covered 26.2 miles on foot.

I AM A MARATHON FINISHER.

Wowsa. My chip time was 4:20:24. Excuse me…my MARATHON PR is 4:20:24. The time isn’t what matters, though. What matters is that:

I, MEGARUNR, AM A MARATHON FINISHER.

And now, if you will excuse me I must somehow convince myself to finish this bagel and bottle of water. I weighed myself this morning and I am still (after much fluid and food intake on an 8-hour drive home) 5 pounds under my starting weight. Uh, yeah. Apparently FINISHING A MARATHON will take a lot out of a person. It’s something I’m glad to know. 🙂

10 responses

  1. So all I have to do to lose 5 pounds quickly is train for several marathons, FINISH one and puke a little along the way? Easy! 🙂 Just kidding. So happy for you and CANNOT wait for the race recap! We are all waiting with breath that is bated.

  2. I do not recommend the marathon as a diet plan. LOL. And with the Marathon Expert as my witness, it was not “a little” puking. Ew.

  3. Congratulations! Welcome! and to be sure.. no more than two marathons a year for two years.. then you can branch out and do two per weekend 🙂

  4. Robert, that’s hilarious. I had to Google this because I thought for a minute you meant Oprah was in my race. Nope, turns out my PR is about 9 minutes faster than hers. Go me!

Leave a Reply

