Faux Foodie Friday

I feel a little guilty about this…I really do. The plan with Faux Foodie Friday is that I bring my lunch to work 4 days a week and then reward myself with lunch out on Friday. Well, this week I threw good intentions, healthy eating, and budgets to the wind. My excuse? Well, there weren’t any groceries in the house. Suresuresure, I suppose I could have made a PB&J, but…well…I ran a marathon! I deserve to eat out. Four times this week…at three different sammich places…because I just don’t feel like making my own sammich. Oh, and that piece of key lime pie? I earned it. And happy hour at Arizona? That too!

Yes. Well. At some point, I know, I’ll need to get back to normal. (“Normal” people carry their finisher’s medals with them at all times, right? Just checking.) I have concluded, however, that today is not that day. I took the opportunity to spoil myself one last time (you know, because I earned it…have I said that enough?) by going to my favorite restaurant in downtown Greenville — Larkin’s on the River.

Mmmm…Larkin’s. This is one of those “fancy” restaurants that I would imagine relies on theatre-night traffic and special events. While most similar places are “dinner only” (ugh, one of my least favorite phrases!), Larkin’s has long served lunch. Delicious, affordable lunch. I’m so glad to see High Cotton on the “lunch” bandwagon, but Larkin’s will always hold a special place in my heart.

Although (Larkin’s Chef? Are you listening?) it is sad that Running Buddy’s favorite dish — beef tenderloin pasta — is still off the menu. It was so good! And the remaining pasta dish on the menu CANNOT fill its shoes. Let’s see…beef and mushrooms and linguini in a rich sauce. Yum. Or…spaghetti noodles, chicken, and vegetables floating in a sea of chicken broth. Is it soup? Is it pasta? Is there a way to eat it without being spectacularly messy? The world may never know.

With beef tenderloin pasta off the table and the day’s specials iinvolving fish (ew), I ordered my usual — the Teriyaki Chicken Sandwich. It’s served on a wheat bun with a side of fruit. Whoa. Maybe I’m not  throwing healthy eating to the wind, after all. I’m a big fan of this sandwich because of the fruit option (we’re talking blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, and grapes…not the sad little pile of colorless melon some places give you) and the fact that the sandwich comes with a slice of pineapple on top. I don’t know why, but I’ve always been a fan of pineapple on grilled sandwiches…or maybe I’m just a fan of pineapple. Either way.

Larkin’s was as good as it always is. Although I’m pretty sure the waiter called me “darlin” at one point…and he was younger than me. I’m not really sure what to do about that. Even after living here for several years, I can’t get used to checkout clerks, salespeople, and the like calling me “sweety,” “darlin’,” or “sugar.” I always want to say, “you know we don’t know each other, right? And that I’m married?”

Anyway. In keeping with the whole “last reward from the marathon” theory and also to get rid of any lingering notion that I’m some kind of  healthy eater, when the sandwich and fruit had been dispensed with I asked to see the dessert menu. RB and I ordered dessert the first time we visited Larkin’s, discovering in the process that the desserts are at least as expensive as the lunch entrees. ¡Ay, caramba! They are, of course, terrifically good. I felt guilty about doubling my ticket with the inclusion of a slice of cheesecake…until the slice of white chocolate cheesecake with a gingersnap (I think) crust arrived, sitting on a puddle of some sort of vanilla bean liquid with a posse of raspberries, blueberries, and whipped cream alongside. Um…caloric or financial guilt? What? I can’t hear you…I’m in love.

4 responses

  1. THANKS for the PROPS! – By the way – anytime you want that steak pasta – just ask! – I know the chef loves to make people happy, and I know Chef Alex will HOOK YOU UP!

    (and I’ll remind the server not to call our guests “Darlin”! that annoys me too!)

    Bob Munnich -Director of Operations, Larkin’s Restaurants, Greenville

  2. The props are well-deserved. It’s a great place! I’m always looking for excuses to go over for lunch…I think my next one will be pestering the chef with your ordering-off-the-menu offer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

