Faux Foodie Faux Friday*

*I know this isn’t Friday. I have a lot of catching up to do and a little extra time to compose a post today.

Mmmmmmmm…Barley’s. The mere word produces a Homer Simpson-like response in me. Barley’s is a “Taproom and Pizzeria” on Washington St. While I’m not a beer-drinker I am most certainly a pizza-eater, and Barley’s appeals to both the pizza-enjoying and money-saving areas of my personality.

You see, Barley’s has not just a lunch special, but the lunch special in downtown Greenville. $5.55 gets me a slice of pizza, a bowl of chilli, and a drink. It could also get you two slices of pizza, OR a slice of pizza and a salad, OR a salad and a bowl of chilli, OR any other combination you can think of. Pizza slices are plate-sized, so there’s no need to worry about leaving hungry. It’s awesome.

Of course, it’d be less awesome if the pizza was subpar, but I really enjoy it. The crust is ever-so-slightly crunchy, which I think it should be, and there’s an excellent ratio of crust to sauce. Where most pizza gets ruined for me is in overapplication of tomato sauce. Barley’s is just right.

There’s not much else to say. Pizza = good. Lunch special = good. Barley’s = good.

2 responses

  1. ugh! Thanks alot! Now I’m craving Barley’s and it’s SOOOO far away! 🙂 Glad to see a return of the Faux Foodie posts though!

  2. Ha! It’s sort of your fault…you’re the one who introduced me to the place! Maybe we can make a trip on one of the days you’re back in town.

Leave a Reply

