Just in Time for Summer: Another Crazy Plan

So…………”tomorrow,” huh, Megan? This is especially funny given the nature of one aspect of my crazy plan. You’ll see what I mean soon enough.

It’s been three months to the day since an eight pound baby came out of me. Since that moment, my life has been consumed with making sure that his life progresses in the most comfortable, fun, intellectually stimulating, and healthy way possible. This will be my life’s work for the next 18 years or so, but with the waning of those first, very demanding three months I’m finding that things have settled into enough of a rhythm to allow me time to breathe. Or check email. Or take a good, long look in the mirror and ask myself just how long I’m planning to wear pants with elastic waistbands.

I’m really not too far off. Trade a little muscle for flab here (and here, and here and here and here…), drop a few pounds there, and the clearest evidence of mommyhood will be the tiny tot in the jogging stroller. That’s my goal, which in itself isn’t too crazy. I’m not reaching for the Olympic team or striving for my college training weight or anything silly like that. Really, I’d just like to get back to looking and feeling like this girl:

Hello, runner!

This girl is one day away from having a marathon cancelled on her due to snow. So what does she do? She keeps training and sets her sight on another one, smiling all the while. I like this girl! She weighed 117 pounds and fit into this adorably dorky (if small) dryfit shirt that says, “May the Course Be With You.”

So, specifically, I’d like to fit into that shirt again. That’s not too much to ask, is it?

Nope, the goal itself isn’t crazy. Where things take a slight turn towards the insane is THE PLAN. I’m currently 126.8 pounds and it has become evident that this, the final 10 pounds of my pregnancy weight gain, has no intention of coming off without a fight. Or, you know, effort on my part.

Shudder.

I’ve known for awhile that adjusting my diet and increasing my exercise were the only ways to give this stubborn poundage the boot. But dropping the caffeine addiction and giving a care about what I ate seemed entirely unachievable from a fog of sleep deprivation and “I can’t do anything because the baby will need me!” mostly self-induced stress. And running? Ha. Don’t talk to me about running. It hurts and I’m tired and there’s no time for it, anyway. As the baby has settled into a fairly reliable sleep pattern, however, allowing me to catch up on my and sleep while leaving me awake at 5:40am with nothing in particular to do, I find that I’ve run out of excuses and precisely the same time that my frustration with my lack of fitness has peaked. What a coincidence!

So. I have a plan for the summer:

Part 1: Run four days a week. I can’t really plan on being able to run more than this. I’ve scheduled 2 “normal” runs, 1 long run, and one speed workout per week. I’ll attempt to get a little strength training and stroller-pushing in on the remaining days. LilRunr loves to go for walks (he is as yet too small for the jogging stroller) and generally finds watching me do sit-ups, leg lifts, and lunges entertaining, so I shouldn’t run into any obstacles there.

Part 2: Give a care about food and drink. I dropped weight the quickest when I embraced Nancy Clark’s principles for eating, so I’m going to attempt to go back to that. Fortunately, I have the season and our fancy new grill on my side — finding tasty, whole foods to eat shouldn’t be a problem for several months! I’m also going to try to drop the bad habit of always drinking something with flavor. When I think about all the pop, lemonade, and juice I drink when I could have just plain water, the number of extra (and usually empty) calories is significant. I’m not ready to completely ditch caffeine — junior will be teething soon, so there’s bound to be sleep disruptions in my future. I can reduce the amount of sugar I intake, however, and it will be all for the better.

Part 3: Be accountable. I’m pretty sure that at this point I only have 4 or 5 readers, but DeAnna, Running Buddy, Marathon Expert, Matty, and Brian — I need your help! I’m going to post my training plan to the blog and my goal is to write something every time I run. (I know, this is funny considering my “be back tomorrow” turned into “see ya next week!”) So if you think a day passed by when I should have been running, tell me to get my butt in gear? Nononono, you should cut me some slack. I’m a new mommy after all, and that requires nothing if not flexibility. Odds are I had to shift a “run” day with an “XT” day. But if two such days go by and all is quiet, by all means check in on me. I really, really, really want to get back in shape, and I appreciate your help. And trash talk. And motivating insults. πŸ™‚

I was going to start this little plan last week and I’m proud to say that I did run three times. Two miles on Memorial Day (where I saw an old guy running in a speedo and JUST a speedo…I’m pretty sure DeAnna has seen the same guy on some of her training runs! He must be a fixture of Corporate Woods), two miles at 5:40am on Wednesday, and two miles at 5:50am on Thursday. That’s not too bad a start. (Also: running before 6:00am makes me feel pretty hardcore, even if my sluggish pace is decidedly not.)

12 responses

  1. Megan, I still read your blog too. I’ll help you be accountable if you help me. I’m attempting to be a slightly better than newbie runner again. My last race (the half marathon last summer) almost ruined me for running but I’m signed up for a fall race now and need to get my butt training. I’m not sure summer in SC was the wisest time to train but I’m doing the race for a friend. It’s “only” 10 miles but I know it’s going to suck the life out of me. Sigh πŸ™‚

    • The Army 10-miler in DC. Our friends live there and she asked me to run the race with her because she had wanted to run it last year and couldn’t. I think I’m crazy to try that long a distance again but we’ll see.

  2. Good luck with your plan.

    I am about 31 wks pregnant and am definitely interested in seeing how you find your way back to feeling like yourself.

    • Good luck with the last 7-11 weeks of pregnancy! I hope I didn’t just depress you with that 11 number…hopefully your little one isn’t as much a procrastinator as my little guy was. πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading!

  3. Megan – I’m a dork and love reading other moms’ blogs. If the mom runs – even better. πŸ™‚

    Not sure if this will make you feel any better or not, but it took me about 5 months to lose the 40+ lbs I gained when I was pregnant with Lucy. Now, I probably average 4-5 days of running each week. It’s probably only 20 miles a week (which compared wo what we used to run sounds like SUCH a small amount), but I think it’s more than enough πŸ™‚ It’s plenty to keep me sane and help with the baby poundage.

    Oh yeah,….right now, I weigh less than when I got pregnant, but I still can’t fit into some of my pre-pregnancy clothes (i.e. cute skinny jeans). The weight is redistributed somehow…. Maybe if I had a place to wear cute skinny jeans, I would care more…..

    • Kate, this cracks me up. I totally get you on the “weight redistribution” thing. It is a fact of life. And 20 miles a week post-college is AMAZING! How do you do it? Thanks for reading!

  4. YAY! Megan! I love your plans…I just wish we were in the same time zone so we could meet up for runs again like we used to. Great job for the first week of the plan….you’ve motivated me to start thinking of a plan of my own.

  5. You ARE hardcore. And I am still desperately trying to force myself to wake up at 5:30 am to go out for a run. So far Sleep: 10, Running: 0. Maybe I need some accountability too…

    Yay Running! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

