Ask & Receive

I’ve been doing some whining recently about my boring, repetitive, hard to believe I’m still blogging about these every day two mile runs. Well, I got a little extra dose of excitement this morning of the “be careful what you wish for” variety. If this is the way my three mile runs are going to go, I shouldn’t have any trouble finding blog-worthy material from now on.

First, I’d like to mention that my primary motivation for running at 5:45am was to cross paths with EITHER fast skinny girl, and even though I saw no fewer than 16 fellow runners out there on this unseasonably cool morning, none were my nemesis…what is the plural of that word, anyway? Is there one? Or may a person have only one true nemesis?

I’d also like to mention that my pace dipped below 10:00 effortlessly, which is a post-pregnancy first. It was a very small dip, but getting into a new minute range was definitely an achievement.

And, now, on with the show. Although I did not run into the fast girls, I did find a running buddy. About a half mile into the run, I noticed a small, furry creature pacing itself with me. It was about 10 feet away and running along the top of a landscaped rise that borders a neighborhood while I took the low road of the sidewalk running parallel to it. My thoughts:

Aw, that’s adorable. It’s like a little friend.
Is it a cat? No.
A dog? No.
A squirrel? No, but that’s closer. It sort of runs the same way, but this is black. With a bigger tail. And a white stripe down it’s back…
Holy crap! It’s a skunk. AND IT HAS THE HIGH GROUND.

I quickly moved myself across the road before the creature decided to spray me or infect me with rabies. (These seemed to be the only two realistic outcomes of a “running with skunk” scenario. The odds of someone having one as a pet are just too slim to be contemplated. Maybe that’s what’s wrong with the world.) Now came the dilemma — the route I had planned on running was an out and back. If I wanted to turn it into a loop to avoid a skunky reunion, I’d be running at least 4 miles. Since I told Scott I’d be gone for half an hour, an absence of 45 minutes would make him worry…and possibly late for work. No good.

I decided not to take the cowardly way out. I bravely faced the sharp-toothed, possibly rabid, certainly aware of my presence wild animal…that is to say, I ran on the opposite side of the road and was more than a little grateful that the neighborhood’s sprinklers had come on. The savage beast would be deterred by the watery forcefield, right?

And that’s the thrilling tale of how I’m no closer to knowing my rivals, but at least am free of rabies.

The End

2 responses

  1. I hope you find out who fast skinny runner is. I’m curious. Boulder is so full of fast skinny people it’s sometimes depressing. One of my friends who was on the CU team had a baby less than a year ago and ran a 4:14 1500 this week. Sick I tell you….Sick.

  2. You know, I haven’t seen fast skinny runner since making that declaration…maybe she went to USA Nationals! Lol, OK, maybe not. 4:14 is beyond sick. My goodness. Who are these people?

Leave a Reply

