Let Me Count the Ways – 9 Loves

Day 2 – nine loves. Oh, this should be much easier than secrets.

  1. LilRunr.You knew I was going to say that, right? Seriously…I love this little man. I’m amazed that somehow he’s SEVEN MONTHS OLD already but I love watching him grow up so much that I can’t complain about how quickly the time is going. He’s a joy. He’s exploring the world with all of his senses these days, and Scott and I are having a ball watching him.

    "Oversized"? Yeah, that's about right. 🙂

  2. Husband.I feel like I have to add in LilRunr’s daddy before I go to other, more trivial loves. I love my husband. He’s silly and fun but always, always plans ahead. It amazes me how his brain works, and how he’s always thinking of ways to make life better for the ones he loves. He’s a very sweet and considerate guy.

    My two favorite guys.

  3. Sour Starburst Jelly Beans.Only available around Easter (why oh why don’t they sell them year-round?!), these sour candies are my absolute favorite junk food in the entire world. I love them. LOVE them. Every year I stockpile what seems like a ridiculous amount, and every year my carefully gathered supply dwindles all too quickly. How many months until April?

    WHY must you be seasonal? WHY?????????

  4. Parks & Rec. I watch a lot of NBC’s Thursday night comedies, and in Parks and Rec’s first season I was really irritated that I’d have to change the channel in between The Office and 30 Rock. I tried to watch it a few times and would always end up complaining about how un-funny it was. “You can’t just copy The Office and have some kind of work mocumentary and expect it to be good!” Then, they got Rob Lowe, and suddenly it’s one of the funnier things on TV. Have you seen “The Flu” episode? I have. THREE TIMES since I discovered last season made it to Netflix Instant. That’s three times in the past two days. Yes. I know. It’s that good! And it’s far more consistently good than the longer-running shows. This season of The Office is seriously bumming me out. Sad face.

    If you'd seen this episode, you'd be laughing right now.

  5. Running. I do love it, I just don’t always appreciate it. Whoa. It sounds like running and I need to go to some sort of relationship conference. Let’s call it “training.” I definitely need to refocus on training.
  6. Games. Board games, card games, video games…I love me some games. It’s probably an indicator that I’m way, way, way too competitive, but I don’t care. It’s a family tradition — every time my extended family gets together, we wind up playing cards. Pitch, pinochle, spades, and rummy, mostly. I don’t want to brag, but I’m pretty good…so long as we don’t play for money. Then, even though it’s a matter of “quarter a game, dime a set” (or, maybe I lose $2 in two hours), somehow the added pressure of there being “money involved” jinxes the whole thing for me.
  7. Naming Things. I love naming things. I name our cars, my Kindle, the giant spider that lives in our azaleas, all of LilRunr’s stuffed animals…Scott finds this tendency either a bit weird or slightly annoying. The “a bit weird” applies when I start talking about Beverly (the garden spider) or little dude’s friends Mr. Cow (a cow, duh), Fuzzy Wuzzy (teddy bear made from Alpaca wool), and Lil Bow Wow (his favorite stuffed dog). “Slightly annoying” applies to the cars, because for some reason he doesn’t think cars should have names. He wants to say “the Rav4” and “the Highlander” instead of “Rambo” and “Commando.” How lame is that? At least they don’t have girly names. Our big ol’ tough SUVs have big ol’ tough, manly names. But still he refuses to acknowledge them. So sad.

    This is Beverly.

  8. Food. Scott has long said that if there was a pill he could take once a day that would take care of ALL of his nutrition needs and he wouldn’t have to eat, he’d be all for it. Yesterday, his sister told me that she thinks eating is a hassle and she gets tired of always having to feed herself. Um…WHAT IS WRONG WITH THESE PEOPLE? I love food. I love to eat. I’m probably toeing the line between “healthy appreciation of food” and “eating as a comfort mechanism.” I especially love pumpkin and pumpkin-flavored things, so I am definitely happy to see October.
  9. Cats. I like dogs OK and most other animals too, but I really love cats. I’m not sure why they capture my attention more than other animals, but it’s always been that way. When I was little, I would spend hours in my grandparents’ barn trying to tame the barn cats. During my unemployed phase following graduate school, I volunteered with a shelter and went a couple of days each week to keep the cages clean and give the animals some playtime. It’s a little embarrassing to admit, but some of my happiest days were spent in the “cat adoption area” of that PetSmart, surrounded by  happy, scampering kittens and relaxed, grateful adult cats. I nearly adopted half a dozen of them, but Scott has wisely imposed a “no more cats than we have people” rule to help prevent the slide into crazy cat lady-ness. Now that we have LilRunr, I guess I could argue for adopting another cat, but I know my limits and think we have all we can handle just now.

    I love the cats and the cats love me. 🙂

2 responses

  1. HAHAHAHAHAA. I’m still laughing from seeing rob lowe’s face. those 2 seconds of “stop.pooping.” were comedy gold! Josh and I still laugh about that episode. Have you started this season? I want to marry Andy. I love him. I wanna be Leslie when I grow up. and Ron Swanson…Ron effing Swanson.

  2. Oh yes, I’m completely hooked now. I just can’t decide whether Leslie, Tom, Andy, Chris Traeger, or Ron are my favorite characters…

Leave a Reply

