Challenge within a Challenge

So, Scott wants us to start racing again. He thinks one of us should run at least one race every month, because this would keep the “one of us” who constantly struggles with motivation (ok, ok it’s me…I struggle with motivation) running on a regular basis.

Well, I found a race for January. It’s a half marathon, and it specifically says that it will run regardless of rain, snow, or ice. PERFECT. Everyone knows that I love cold-weather running, and that the cancellation of the 2010 Myrtle Beach marathon was one of the bigger disappointments of my running career. So, I do what I normally do.

I get all excited.

I make up a training plan.

I tell Scott about my great idea when he gets home.

I want to ease him into the idea, so I lead off with something I know he’ll like. “I found a race I want to run!” I say happily. Husband is automatically suspicious. He knows me too well. “Um….yeah. Can I run in Topeka in January?” Now he looks amused. “Topeka to Auburn?” he asks. Dang. The fella has been spending plenty of time scouring for local races, apparently. “Yup!” I say, preparing to launch into my nifty training plan and how I really hope it’s freeze your face off cold on race day. “That’s a half marathon, Megan.” Duh. “I know!”

Then he gives me this look that’s supposed to remind me that I’ve run about 13 miles in the month since the alumni race, and says, “if you run 13 miles this week, I’ll believe you’re serious.”

My competitive side jumps at the bait. “FINE! I totally will.” That’ll show him. Challenge accepted.

So, now I need to run 13 miles in 5 days. YES, I know this means I’m going to need to run more than my usual wimpy two milers, because 2 x 5 = 10 and 10 < 13. YES, I know this means I’m going to need to run five days in a row. YES, I know this whole challenge is a ploy by my lovely husband to get me back to running, and that no matter what happens I can still train for that January half if my heart so desires.

Challenge accepted. GAME ON!

So, I know I’ve still got three days in this “talk about yourself” challenge, which means that there are going to be two challenges running SIMULTANEOUSLY on this here blog. Whoa. I hope you can keep up. 😉

Today, I ran two miles. I figured I should ease back in a tad, and I spent the entire run plotting the best way to get to 13. 2-2-3-3-3? 2-3-3-3-2? 2-2-2-2-5? 2-3-3-5-0? As you can see, there are many ways to get to 13. And I will get to 13. Oh, yes. I will.

Leave a Reply

