No One Wants to Run With Me

No one wanted to run with me. On Saturday, that is. I showed up at the arranged meeting spot, as usual. I arrived about 10 minutes before the meeting time, as usual. I played pointless games on my iPhone as I waited, as usual. Instead of 2, 3, or even 4 people showing up to run with me (as usual), I looked up to realize it was 10 minutes after our meeting time and I was all alone. Not a single lady from the made-up running club (ACTUAL people, but a made-up club…a very important distinction) was able to make it.

Sad.

I called Scott to let him know that I’d be running solo, and then I set off. I noticed immediately that I was getting some distinct “is she crazy?” looks from my fellow runners. They were all wearing tights, long-sleeved shirts, headbands or stocking hats, and gloves. I was wearing shorts and a t-shirt. I’d like to add that it was nearly 50 degrees, so I feel like I was in the right even if I was in the minority. Nevertheless, all of the (I believe) overdressed runners and walkers out there seemed to think I was nuts.

Sad.

So there I was, some crazy solo runner. Have I mentioned the sadness of this? Then, out of nowhere, I saw him. SPEEDO RUNNER. And I took a picture.

Speedo Man

Suddenly, my day was a whole lot less sad…and my shorts and t-shirt ensemble seemed a whole lot closer to the norm. πŸ™‚

Oh, and know what else made my day a whole lot less sad? I averaged 8:21/mile for 6 miles. I KNOW! Oh, wait. You probably don’t know. “Good” for me in my post-college running days has been closer to 9:00/mile. Chopping 40 seconds off from that is darn near miraculous. Especially for a 6-mile run. SIX MILES, FOLKS! I haven’t run 6 miles since before I was pregnant. It’s all recorded via GPS, so I didn’t imagine it. Now that I know it’s possible, my training pace since then has been in the 8:15-8:30 range.

Wow. How did that happen? I’d come to terms with my 9:00/mile “post-college” pace as well as my closer-to-9:30/mile mommy pace. Sure, it’s something my college coach would consider “jogging” (ptooey), but running/jogging is better than nothing at all. But now…oh, I don’t even want to say anything because it seems so unrealistic…do you know what pace my college coach WOULDN’T consider jogging? 8:00/mile. So, by this arbitrary, unrealistic standard, I’m closer to being a “real runner” right now than I have been in 6 years.

While that may be a little silly, it’s not sad at all. πŸ™‚

One response

  1. Pingback: 2012 Mother’s Day 5k: Race Recap | meganrunning

Leave a Reply

