Topeka to Auburn: The Competition

Did you know that my first planned race of the year, the Topeka to Auburn Half Marathon, is in less than two weeks?

I guess you do now. It’s scheduled for January 21, and the website and entry form repeatedly warn people of the perils of running in Kansas in January, going so far to say that the race will be run REGARDLESS of the weather conditions. As I’ve mentioned before, this is my kind of race. (YES, I’m still bitter about the 2010 Myrtle Beach Marathon being cancelled at 10:20PM the night before the race due to a fleeting snowstorm. I don’t plan on letting that one go. Ever.)

My favorite sentences from the brochure are as follows:

“Runners may be exposed to severe weather conditions including ice, sleet, snow and freezing temperatures. Hypothermia is a danger! Footing may be hazardous as some of the race is over unpaved rural roads and the course is quite hilly.”

Is that not the most beautiful waiver of liability that you’ve ever encountered? It makes me positively giddy. I love it.

It should come as no surprise that winter this year in Kansas has been uncharacteristically mild. Such is my life. People say, “you must be happy about the warm weather we’ve been having.” No! No, I am not. I planned for bitter cold, biting winds, and perhaps a little sleet or snow. The springtime cheerfulness can wait until March, thankyouverymuch.

I checked the website today, and I am officially registered for the event…along with 18 other courageous souls in my age group. I don’t know where I’ll fall in the final results, but I’m pleased as punch to see my name on this list. I can hardly wait!

The Competition

Leave a Reply

