Training Log: Week 3

WEEK 3
January 9-15

Monday – 0

Tuesday – 2 miles (8:40/mile) …this was on the treadmill at the gym. I was in a state about leaving LilRunr to go to Charleston, and I really had to make myself get out there and run AT ALL. I know, silly.

Wednesday – 0 …if I was “in a state” the day before travel, the day OF travel was characterized by tears, much fretting, and a random eye twitch. It would have been good for me to go run off some of that nervous energy, but I wasted the morning and then spent the rest of the day traveling to Charleston. Ah, well.

Thursday – 5 miles (8:37/mile) …a delightfully, differently scenic run along the Charleston battery and historic neighborhoods. I was surprised by how many fellow runners I saw out hitting the streets…until I learned that Charleston’s 2nd marathon was happening that Saturday. Mystery explained.

Friday – 3 miles (8:23/mile) …a late night with co-workers meant that the planned 5:30am run did not happen. Fortunately, our meetings ended an hour earlier than scheduled, giving me time for a quick afternoon run before meeting the rest of the group for dinner. Hooray!

Saturday – 0 …another travel day. I woke up at 5:30am to meet my flight, and trying to keep up with the rest of my co-workers meant that I actually get more sleep at home with LilRunr, he of the unpredictable sleep schedule. Oy.

Sunday – 4 miles (8:24/mile) …back in Kansas, and the 25mph winds prove it! It was chilly today, but it felt good to run off some of the effects of traveling.

TOTAL – 14 miles (I’ll call it “tapering”, not “laziness.” Lol!)

Leave a Reply

