Back (Again) to Running (Again)

Hiatus over. Massive recurring sicknesses (hopefully) over. I’m not really a fan of the sweltering temperatures to come, but if spring/summer/whatever warmer season is upon us brings with it an END TO COLD AND FLU SEASON then label me a happy camper. I won’t even care about the bugs and the humidity and the heat stroke. Maybe. I know I’ve complained about this repeatedly, but March has just been ridiculous. Last week, it was my turn for the virus, and that led to very little running. Again.

Insert disgruntled noise here.

There are 11 days left in March, and I still haven’t run a race. Heck, I haven’t really run at all. Three runs? Maybe? I’m not really in shape anymore. Drat sticks. Drat on a hat. I made a promise on this here blog to run one race a month in 2012, however, so I’m going to follow through.

I’m just not all that excited about it. Is that allowed, blog world? The only thing I could find is called the “Diva Dash.” It’s a 5k. It’s costing me $10 a mile for the privilege of running it. It’s one of those “women only girl power” things, which isn’t precisely me. The last word in this entire, flu-ridden, stressful, topsy turvy world that I would use to describe myself is “diva.”

But I will run it, for the good of the blog and the promise I made to miscellaneous friends and strangers.

And then one more week, and then March will be over. Hallelujah.

 

3 responses

  1. It’s perfectly acceptable to NOT be excited, and I actually find that putting those thoughts into blogland makes the “real” day much better. Purge and be done, move on and be happy. 🙂 A race a month…can that entail just a simple 5K as well? If so, you’ll have no issues.

  2. There’s actually something really cool about a girl only race. I hate the girl power thing too and reluctantly ran a “mother’s” run which of course I am not. It was really cool. I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

  3. I think part of my problem is that I’m already planning on doing the Mother’s Day 5k, so that makes TWO girly races in one year. Ah, well. If I would have gotten my act together I could have done the St. Patty’s Day run last weekend.

Leave a Reply

