Looking Ahead to 2013…

Nope, this has nothing to do with the election. We had one, I voted, and now I don’t have to see any more political ads (which, as if they aren’t awful enough, were ALL for a state that I am not a resident in) for awhile.

My plans for 2013, unsurprisingly, already involve RUNNING. Yes, I’m still working through the 2012 Run-a-Race-Every-Single-Month plan…but this 2013 race involves some extra planning. It is of the “you’d best get yourself a 12-week training plan” variety.

Nope, it’s not a marathon. I have neither the time nor the inclination for that.

“It” is a 10-mile beach trail race in Florida. While this might seem like a random choice for a Kansas girl, it’s actually quite deliberate. You see, I work for a small company where most of the employees are scattered in satellite offices across the country. Every January, the company brings EVERYONE together to recap the year, set goals for the next 12 months, and have some fun. Last year, the gathering was in Charleston, and it was only after arriving that I realized the Charleston Half Marathon was on the same weekend. I decided then that, wherever we traveled the next year, I would do my best to find a race to run while we’re there.

It took some doing, but I found one. A 10-mile race that runs along the beach and on the trails of a state park. This will be my first time racing on sand, which I am a little nervous about, but it will definitely be something COMPLETELY different than my year of road races. And since I’ll be in Clearwater anyway…why not?

I have 12 weeks until the event, so official training began this week. I’m going to make an effort to post my weekly running logs here, to provide some semblance of accountability. For now, I’m excited! There’s something fun about having a goal like this, with bunches of little boxes just waiting for mileage to be filled in.

We’ll see how long the enthusiasm lasts. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

