Caladesi 10-Mile Beach/Trail Race: The Long Run

This much I know:

  1. I will be able to run 10 miles without stopping on The Big Day (less than 3 weeks away).
  2. It is a fine time to be making an escape from winter.

I know the first because, despite the fact that my Twitter feed would suggest very sporadic running, I have been training consistently these last few weeks. Scott and I signed up for what has become a tradition — the winter gym membership. I’ve been heading there 2-3 times a week, which doesn’t appear on the mileage Runmeter posts to Twitter. A few weeks ago, when the roads and sidewalks were too icy and inhospitable to allow it, I actually survived 7 very boring miles on the treadmill. I know. Ugh. Since then, I’ve also logged an 8-miler AND a 9-miler on the roads, increasing my confidence at the prospect of finishing and giving me plenty of time to consider Item #2.

You see, it is cold. This Sunday, when I was out traipsing around greater Johnson County for one hour and fifteen minutes, it was 10 not-so-balmy degrees with the windchill. The Saturday before that, when I was recalling just how hilly Lawrence, KS can actually be, it was 17 degrees.

It is quite cold, indeed. And, while I definitely prefer 10 degrees to 100, there comes a point when I’m just ready for a change. Ten mile beach race in Florida? I’ll take it!

In less than three weeks, I’ll get to test my fitness. In less than three weeks, I’ll need to look ahead to see what running goal I should pursue next. Ideas are welcome. 🙂

2 responses

  1. I was just thinking, what the heck, another race? 2012 is over so isn’t that whole racing every month thing over? So, I don’t know what to say as far as ideas for next goals which basically means this comment was worthless. Ah well.

  2. Random occurrence — in 2012, my work retreat in Charleston overlapped with the Charleston marathon, and I didn’t even know about it! I promised myself I wouldn’t let that happen again, hence the 10-miler in Florida. A couple of co-workers will be running it, too. I (think) (hope) it will be fun! After that, I’m at a loss. I *sort of* want to try to get real real fast for the Trolley Run, but that involves effort. And dedication. And speed work. Ptooey.

Leave a Reply

