There’s No Business like Snow Business…

Ever since the Kansas City area became a dumping ground for snow (20 inches in 5 days, that’s gotta be some kind of record), I’ve been singing a modified version of the tune from “Annie Get Your Gun.” It hasn’t been annoying AT ALL to those who live with me…ok, even the toddler has been running up to me and saying, “no no, pease,” which is LilRunr-speak for, “Mama, please stop singing ‘there’s no business like snow business’ over and over and over. You’re driving us all bonkers.” 

The snow started off interesting, because getting 10 inches of snow at one time is a novelty for our area. Then, it got a little crazy, because TWO 10-inch snowfalls within a week? I’ve never seen that much snow at one time. 

That was Monday. Today is Friday, and the snow is STILL HERE because it’s below freezing IN MARCH and I’m sick of it. I want to back out of my driveway without having to avoid the snow wall. I want to be able to see to the horizon again, without my view blocked by the snow mountains the plows left. I want to Spring. IT IS MARCH. 

I’m tempted to say something like, “so much for global warming,” but then someone will say, “it’d called climate change, dummy, and it encompasses all kinds of out of the norm weather” and then I’d say, “well, fine then, but I don’t like it,” and they’d say, “what are you going to do about it?” and that’s why instead of starting that whole conversation, and instead of being totally miserable in front of the child who finds the whole experience magical (and thus ruining it for him), I’m sticking with my song: 

There’s no business like snow business like no business I know…

Leave a Reply

