Every Day? No. Most Days? Yes.

I like to imagine that there are people out there scrutinizing my blog and preparing to call me to task for any untruths/evasions. This is probably not the case, but in order to satisfy my own paranoia I must provide an update on that whole “I’m going to run every day between now and forever because that’s what it takes to keep me motivated” plan.

I have taken 3 rest days in the past 2 weeks. 

There. I said it. I made it 19 days in a row. Around day 15, LilRunr was climbing on me and stepped on a sore spot in my calf I didn’t even know I had. It’s about the size of a quarter, and it lit up like a blinding neon sign.

OW!

In the days to follow, the calf became noticeable. I hit it with the foam roller. I stretched. The calf ignored me, and went from “noticeable” to “annoying.” I started to worry that I was courting an injury, and all for a silly, pointless goal. I finally took what I’m calling an “old lady” day off, sheepishly admitting to Scott my failure when he got home from work that night. He laughed and said, “good. The last thing I want is for you to get hurt.”

Oh. So it’s really not a big deal after all? Ok, then! I kept on going, and the calf kept on hurting. When it still hurt after a nice, easy run on nice, soft gravel roads, I decided to take a longer break. I rested two days early this week, and it seems to be back under control.

I’m not really surprised. I didn’t know what would give first — foot, calf, hamstring, hip? There are consequences to doubling the number of running days a week and eliminating any rest days. I am extremely proud of my nearly 80 miles (see the “Training” week) in 28 days, but I’m OK with listening to my body and taking a break when required.

Leave a Reply

